Early Career Research Award

In order to encourage new researchers in mathematics education, MERGA sponsors an award to an author in the early part of her/his career. The award, for excellence in writing and presenting a piece of mathematics education research, consists of a plaque and a prize of $500 and is presented at the annual conference. As part of winning the award, it is expected that the winning recipient will write a brief (one or two paragraphs) report for an upcoming MERGA newsletter.

Applying for the Award

Entry for the Early Career Research Award is by submission of a written research paper for presentation at the conference through the Early Bird peer review process. Conditions of eligibility, information about the judging process, and the criteria judges will observe are provided. Please choose "Early Career Award" when you submit your paper to the Early Bird round. Please note that co-authored papers are NOT eligible for entry into the Early Career Research Award, nor are Round Table or Symposium papers.


Recent Winners

2023 Sze Looi Chin

2022 Lorraine Gaunt

2021 Kristen Tripet

2020 No MERGA Conference due to COVID

2019 Christine Mae  and  Steve Murphy

2018 Katherin Cartwright

2017 Laurinda Lomas

2016 Lisa O'Keeffe

2015 Jodie Miller

2014 Lisa Darragh

2013 Ban Heng Choy

Please click here to view a list of past Early Career Research Award winners.